Movies

Review: Now You See Me

Wow, I’ve ignored this blog for a while, haven’t I? Uh…oops?

This past weekend I had the chance to go home and in doing so, two of my high school besties and I went to see Now You See Me. After all, tradition dictates that we go see a movie every time I’m home. I wanted to break the chain by going bowling but Fate just wasn’t having it. After all, it’s tradition for a reason, right? The plan to go see NYSM was very impromptu and as a result, we only had 15 minutes to the start time so we rushed from the restaurant we were at to get to the theatre. Thankfully, we made it just in the nick of time and got great seats too, despite the theatre being moderately full!

For those of you who haven’t heard about it, here’s the trailer:


Now, when I saw the trailer, this movie immediately went on my must-see list. The premise is intriguing and unique. There have been a lot of heist-type movies but not many of them involve magicians. Moreover, this isn’t just a movie about magicians petty tricks — on a level, it deals with real magic. Or at least it seems that way.

The cast is incredibly attractive and work very well together. This is the first time I’ve seen Woody Harrison in a movie other than the Hunger Games and I have to say he’s amazing. Isla Fisher manages to hold her own with the Jesse Eisenberg (who is simply amazing yet again) and Dave Franco. The heists and tricks they pull as The Four Horsemen are grandiose and I was left with a sense of amazement after finishing the movie. Not only that, but the movie was quite funny at times!

Just look at them. Ugh, SUCH a good-looking cast.
Image Copyright to ImpAwards.com

That being said, there were a couple of things I didn’t like. FBI Agent Rhodes (Mark Ruffalo) is put on the case of The Four Horsemen against his will and is then forced to work with a French Interpol agent, Alma Vargas (Melanie Laurent). While I loved the rest of the movie, I could have done without the little love-angle between the two agents. You can see it coming from the beginning and to be honest, it’s really unnecessary. It doesn’t add anything new to the plot and it felt like that aspect was added to the script just because it’s nice to have a small romantic angle in a movie. Secondly, I liked how it tied together but the explanation of all the connections just didn’t feel enough. It left me wanting more; there should have been a deeper connection and somehow, the explanation was a bit too superficial.

The Four Horsemen
Image copyright to Aceshowbiz.com

That being said, the rest of the movie is good and throughout the three acts of the magicians’ show, you’re left thinking as to what is happening, why it’s happening, and how it’s all connected. Who is Lionel Shrike? Why is he so important? These are all questions that are answered in the last 5-10 minutes of the movie. Moreover, the twist in the movie is one I kind of saw coming in the ‘Wouldn’t-it-be-funny-it-was-this-character’ kind of way but I loved that The Four Horsemen had no idea who was pulling the strings. Many times, the team pulling the heists or doing the job know the identity of the inside man but it wasn’t the case here so that was refreshing as well.

All in all, Now You See Me is a great watch. It leaves you with a sense of magic, an urge to go out and become a magician, and thinking that perhaps, just perhaps, magic is real.

Final Rating: 7/10

3 thoughts on “Review: Now You See Me

  1. Pingback: Well, I’m Feeling Perkins | Pearl and Glory

Leave a Reply

